19.—Legislatures and Premiers of Ontario 1934-55 and Ministry as at June 30, 1955 Legislatures 1934-55¹

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 19, 1934 Oct. 6, 1937 Aug. 4, 1943 June 4, 1945 June 7, 1948 Nov. 22, 1951 June 29, 1955	19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly 22nd General Assembly 23rd General Assembly 24th General Assembly 25th General Assembly	8 2 4 4 5	Feb. 20, 1935 Dec. 1, 1937 Feb. 22, 1944 July 16, 1945 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 21, 1952	Mar. 24, 1948 Apr. 27, 1948

¹ The Ministries from 1934-55 were: 11th Ministry sworn in July 10, 1934 under the leadership of Hon. M. F. Hepburn; 12th Ministry sworn in Oct. 21, 1942 under the leadership of Hon. G. D. Conant; 13th Ministry sworn in May 18, 1943 under the leadership of Hon. H. C. Nixon; 14th Ministry sworn in Aug. 17, 1943 under the leadership of Hon. George A. Drew; 15th Ministry sworn in Oct. 10, 1948 under the leadership of Hon. Thomas L. Kennedy; 16th Ministry sworn in May 4, 1949 under the leadership of Hon. Leslie M. Frost.

² First session not convened at June 30, 1955.

Sixteenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 9, 1955: 83 Progressive Conservatives, 11 Liberals, 3 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 1 Independent Progressive Conservative.)

Norg. - See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Prime Minister, President of the Council and Provincial Treasurer. Attorney-General. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Labour. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Travel and Publicity.	Hon. Leslie M. Frost	Aug. 17, 1943 May 8, 1944 Aug. 17, 1943 Aug. 17, 1943 Jan. 7, 1945 Apr. 15, 1946 Nov. 28, 1946 Oct. 19, 1948	May 4, 1949 May 4, 1949 Aug. 17, 1943 Aug. 17, 1943 Jan. 7, 1945 June 3, 1952 Oct. 19, 1948
Minister of Health. Minister of Reform Institutions. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Mines. Minister of Planning and Development. Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Lands and Registrar. Provincial Secretary and Registrar.	HON. MACKINNON PHILLIPS. Major the Hon. JOHN W. FOOTE, V.C. HON. WM. J. DUNLOP. HON. FLETCHER S. THOMAS. HON. PHILIP T. KELLY. HON. WILLIAM K. WARRENDER. HON. CLARE E. MAPLEDORAM. HON. JURIS N. ALLAN. HON. WILLIAM M. NICKLE	Aug. 8, 1950 Nov. 16, 1950 Oct. 2, 1951 Oct. 2, 1951 June 3, 1952 Jan. 20, 1953 July 7, 1954 Jan. 5, 1955 Jan. 20, 1955	Aug. 8, 1950 Nov. 16, 1950 Oct. 2, 1950 Jan. 20, 1951 June 3, 1951 Jan. 20, 1951 July 7, 1951 Jan. 5, 1951 Jan. 20, 1951

Subsection 7.-Manitoba

Besides its Lieutenant-Governor Manitoba has an Executive Council composed of 10 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a statutory term of five years. The Honourable John Stewart McDiarmid, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province at May 31, 1955, was commissioned to office Aug. 1, 1953. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 94.

The Premier of the Province is paid a salary of \$10,000 per annum and each of the other Members of the Cabinet \$8,000. Members of the Legislature are each paid an indemnity of \$2,000 and an expense allowance of \$1,000. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional amount of \$2,500 and the Speaker of the Legislature an additional amount of \$2,500.